Tokyo Trip (Pt6) – Ghibli Museum

Our last day in Tokyo. I capped it off with a trip to Ghibli Museum in Mitaka. From Shibuya station we took the train to Ichijoji. It only takes about 15-20min.

Studio Ghibli is responsible for feature animation like Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle and My Neighbor Totoro. I’m a big fan 😀 I watched quite a few of these during my students days which was like eons ago. Anyway, what’s different about Ghibli Studios from Western animation is their artwork. It’s like watching animated paintings and you get totally absorbed into it.

Going to the museum is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Basically the museum displays their animation process. Which is just AMAZING! None of those CGI things. All layer by layer painting combined with camera and lighting. I dont really know the proper term for it and its hard to explain. Its just short of magical to a girl from Malaysia like me 🙂

You’re not allowed to take pictures inside the museum so I’ll post what I can:

image

image

image

image

There are many things inside the museum but like I said I couldn’t take any pictures. So these are mostly the outdoors.

If you like artwork, animation and a big fan of Miyazaki and Ghibli studios animation, yes you should come here 🙂

It was our last day in Tokyo, and it was winter when we arrived but you know what? On our last day, the sakura started blooming. I see why the Japanese celebrates when the sakura blooms. Seeing the pink and white flowers made me feel so blessed and feeling akin to hope. It made me feel happy I don’t know why. We don’t have 4 seasons in Malaysia. It’s either rain or sunshine. So it was a new feeling for me, seeing the sakura. Maybe its because we are so used to sunny weather that we don’t notice the flowers in Malaysia. I don’t know. Just a thought.

image

image

image

And that was the end of my Japan trip. I love the place so much. I hope I’ll be able to come again one day. I should save up and maybe plan to go to a different country but for some reason Japan has always had its charm on me.

Will see how it goes.

-The End-

About MewsOfTheMuse

To record the musings that I might come across. Hobbies, events and anything interesting that I feel deserve to have a record for the record :p View all posts by MewsOfTheMuse

Leave a Reply

